Shane Peacock



As an author, playwright, journalist, and screenwriter, Shane has always been interested in larger-than-life characters, seeking the truth about human beings, and exploring the invisible things that matter to us all. His first book, The Great Farini, was the true account of an extraordinary 19th century man whose first of many feats was walking over Niagara Falls on a high wire. His Dylan Maples Adventures for young adults followed the exploits of an unusual teenage character; his journalism for the likes of Reader’s Digest and Sports Illustrated, documentaries for History Television and Canada’s CTV national network, and plays for the acclaimed 4th Line Theatre have featured spies, ghosts, street preachers and sumo wrestlers.

His Boy Sherlock Holmes series, beginning with Eye of the Crow, and followed by Death in the Air, Vanishing Girl, The Secret Fiend, The Dragon Turn, and Becoming Holmes, are the first novels to recount the childhood adventures of literature’s most famous detective. These books have been nominated for and won more than sixty awards worldwide, including the Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Award, The Libris Award, and The Violet Downey Award, all for Best YA Novel in Canada, the Arthur Ellis Award (twice) for best YA crime fiction, the Geoffrey Bilson Award for best historical YA novel, six consecutive Junior Library Guild of America Premier Selections, three nominations for the TD Canadian Children’s Literature Award, and three Canadian Library Association Honour Book awards. In addition, Becoming Holmes was a 2013 finalist for The Governor-General’s Award. Every book in the series became a best seller and, all told, were translated into twelve languages in ten countries. The Ottawa Citizen said that “The vitality of Peacock’s creation of Sherlock Holmes is so inspired it feels like the writer is possessed, channeling Sherlock’s spirit.”

As well, Shane’s novel Last Message is part of the groundbreaking Seven, the Series: connected novels by seven of Canada’s most acclaimed Young Adult authors about seven grandsons seeking to complete the bucket list of their late grandfather. All seven books were published on the same day in 2012. The sequel, Double You, (part of The Seven Sequels) appeared in 2014, and the prequel, Separated (part of The Seven Prequels) in 2016.

His first picture book, The Artist and Me, (a Junior Library Guild of America selection, Blue Spruce Award finalist, Kirkus Reviews Book of the Year nominee, and Marilyn Baillie Picture Book Award nominee) came out in 2016. His first novel in the Teen Gothic Horror trilogy, The Dark Missions of Edgar Brim (a John Spray Award nominee) also appeared that year, the second book in that series, Monster, in early 2018, and the third, Demon, in 2019. That year Nimbus published the first Dylan Maples Adventure in sixteen years, entitled Phantom of Fire. In 2022, his teen novel,”The Book of Us,” appeared from DCB Books.

In total, Shane’s novels have been translated into 20 languages in 18 countries.

In demand as a public speaker, he has appeared in many hundreds of schools across Canada, the U.S. and Europe, as well as at many national and international conventions, and on television and radio. His presentations are designed to get young people, students, teachers, and other adults excited about reading and literature in general.

Shane lives in southern Ontario with his wife, journalist Sophie Kneisel.

Represented by:

(For young readers)

The Pamela Paul Agency

Toronto, Ontario, Canada

(For fiction for adults);

Hilary McMahon

Westwood Creative Artists

Toronto, Ontario, Canada